2017 Scholar of the Year Banquet

Touchstone Energy® Cooperatives in eastern South Dakota and western Minnesota honored some of the area’s most impressive high school seniors Saturday, April 29, during the 15th annual Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Year banquet and recognition on the campus of Dakota State University.

The event honored the 34 high school students who were chosen each week throughout the school year as the Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Week. It’s a program which recognizes students for academic achievement, co-curricular involvement and community service. The students are featured in weekly segments which air on KSFY Television and each student receives a $100 scholarship for being chosen as the Scholar of the Week.

Ben Pond, a senior at Ipswich High School within FEM Electric Association’s service territory, was selected during the banquet as the Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Year. Pond, who plans to attend South Dakota State University in the fall, received a $1,000 scholarship. Trevor Sik, a senior at Elkton High School within Lyon-Lincoln Electric’s service territory, and Tory Arbach, a senior at Marion High School within Southeastern Electric’s service territory, were both chosen to receive $500 scholarships. The names were drawn from among the attendees.

Dakota State University’s President Dr. José-Marie Griffiths was the keynote speaker for the Scholar of the Year banquet. KSFY News anchor Brian Allen served as the master of ceremonies.

Touchstone Energy Cooperatives in eastern South Dakota and western Minnesota provide safe and reliable electricity to more than 113,000 homes and businesses. The cooperatives have sponsored the Scholar of the Week program since 2002. In that time Touchstone Energy Cooperatives have awarded over $75,000 in scholarships as part of the Scholar of the Week program.

2017 Scholar Banquet Attendees